The society has its headquarters in Tokyo, with seven branches in appropriate regions of the country, as shown below.

The board of directors, consisting of twenty-six directors headed by president (Dr. Prof. Minoru YOSHIDA for the 2019-2021 term), fulfills functions constantly in collaboration with the following administrative board at the headquarters.


  • KAGAKU TO SEIBUTSU (Society Journal in Japanese) Editorial Board
  • Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry Editorial Board
  • Academic Activities Committee
  • Tripartite Collaboration Committee
  • Public Relations Committee
  • Gender Equality Committee
  • JABEE Education Committee
  • Ethics Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Organizing Committee for the 100th Anniversary of the Foundation of JSBBA


Seven branches in the Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu, Kansai, Chu-Shikoku and Nishi-Nihon districts coordinate activities